Pileated Practice

DSC_0131

This fellow was spotted on a big Loblolly Pine Tree.  He did not seem bothered by the proximity of a human.  The Woodpecker was intent in his task of going up and down the tree.

DSC_0157

Soon the Woodpecker’s sibling joined in the tree climbing practice.  No pecking, just climbing up, around and down until the lesson is learned.


7 Comments on “Pileated Practice”

  1. lornagannon says:

    Fascinating antics – beautiful birds. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Holleygarden says:

    I have only seen one of these in real life. They amaze me. You got some great photos, and I’m surprised they didn’t care if you were around or not!

    • I watched the first one for quite awhile and then went in the house and got my camera. I took lots of photos and the other one showed up. They let me really close for a long time. I think they were concentrating on their lessons!

  3. You get the coolest birds at your house! 🙂

  4. Christina says:

    Woodpeckers have the nasty habit of pecking at our shutters and sometimes the walls of the house; they have done a lot of damage so although I used to think them fantastic birds I now dislike them!!


Leave a Reply

