Go- To- Chicken Prep and Oven-Fried Sesame Chicken

When I went gluten-free for health reasons over 12 years ago, it was very difficult to find something to eat and recipes to make.  There was maybe one cookbook out and it really did not fit my taste.  I have spent all these years collecting what I call “real food” recipes that just naturally don’t include gluten.  I feed family and friends for holidays and dinner parties and none are aware they are eating gluten-free.  That is the way it should be!

Those of you that must be on the GF diet for health reasons know the drill.  Always check and recheck every product you use.  I will give suggestions, but you must be personally responsible to make sure the product you are using is gluten-free.

My hope is that this will reach the newly diagnosed and give them a great start to their new way of life. So if you stumbled upon this dual blog and know someone who has to be GF, please pass it along.

________________________________________

Go to Chicken

Boneless chicken breast is so easy and versatile.  Here are my tricks for easy meals:

Pound the boneless breast to an even thickness.  I use a cutting mat, cover the breast with plastic wrap and use a meat tenderizer hammer on the flat side.

Now the really clever will have bought the breast on sale and have a “pounding” day and freeze a bunch.  I like to use a FoodSaver vacuum to freeze each individually.  On the day you want chicken, pop them in the refrigerator in the morning to thaw.

The other secret is bake (I use a glass baking pan) at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes or until done. It has worked perfectly for me each time.

OVEN-FRIED SESAME CHICKEN

Preheat oven at 375

4 pounded boneless chicken breast

This recipe is easy to adjust for 1 breast to many.

2 tablespoons soy sauce

I usually use more…just add as needed. It turns out most soy sauce contains wheat. I use the San-J, that is gluten-free. It is always good to check that it is marked GF as some are not.

3 tablespoons sesame seeds

2 tablespoons brown rice flour

 I use more rice flour for better covering.  I just spoon what I need from the box to eliminate waste.

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

cooking spray

Spray baking pan. Dredge chicken in soy sauce. Next dredge in rice flour. Place chicken in baking pan. Spray with cooking spray, add salt and pepper and sprinkle sesame seeds over top. Give another quick spray. Bake 30 minutes or until done.

I like to serve the chicken with rice and peas (frozen or fresh).  This is an easy week night supper.  I live for left-overs.  This chicken is excellent to add to a lettuce and greens salad.  You may want to make some extra!



Leave a Reply

